Ontario Secondary School Teachers' Federation
District 13 Durham

EPAC - Education Issues - Political Action Committee


To assist in the development and administration of a survey of the membership on an on-going basis to determine those classroom-based professional priorities not addressed by the collective agreement.

To present the findings of the survey to the Executive for review, prioritization and action.

To keep members aware of political activities.

To help organize meaningful political action activities.


One per month, usually on the third Wednesday of the month at 4:15 p.m. at the District 13 Office.

As needed to compile the results of the survey.

2017-2018 Meeting Dates: Sept. 27, Oct. 18, Nov. 22, Dec. 20, Jan. 31, Feb. 21, Mar. 21, Apr. 18, May 23, and June 13.

Duties of the School Representatives

Attend scheduled meetings once a month.

Bring back information to your branch.

Help educate your branch members about political issues and provide feedback to the committee from your school regarding those educational issues of priority to the membership.

Liaise with Branch President to ensure co-ordination of collective bargaining/contract issues and professional issues.

Committee Members



Rose-Erin Smith
Ajax HS
Tara Moore
Ajax HS
Jim Scarth
Anderson CVI
Danielle Hunter
Branch 18
Don Benton
Brock HS
Shane Stagg
Brooklin HS
Brigitte Van De Laar
Con Ed
Garrett Metcalfe
Jennifer Young
Doreen Sachett
Eastdale CVI
Ruth Kam

Roger Gordon

Henry Street

George Chaktsiris
Maxwell Heights

Adam Mercer


Stephanie McMahon
Matt Thomas
Pickering HS

Paul Marquand

Pine Ridge

Alden Fong
Port Perry HS
Marcie McCrae
Dean Peel
GL Roberts

Kim Lang


Rob Walker

Ryan Kelly

District Office/Chair

Ruth Leone

District Office

Dave Barrowclough

District Office/Chair